Updated Oct. 12, 2020. Originally posted Sept. 22, 2020
Starting Oct. 15, Hawaii will welcome back visitors with its pre-travel testing program, allowing travelers from out-of-state to proceed without the 14-day quarantine if they test negative for COVID-19 before they arrive in the islands.
Here’s what you need to know before you go:
You must test negative within 72 hours of traveling to Hawaii.
Starting Oct. 15, travelers will not be subject to a 14-day quarantine if they can provide a negative COVID-19 test within 72 hours of their travel—this applies to travelers of age five and older. If the test result is not available once you arrive in Hawaii, visitors will need to remain in quarantine until they get the result. All tests must meet the requirements of the State of Hawaii’s pre-travel testing program.
The test MUST meet state requirements.
The state of Hawaii will ONLY accept test results from trusted testing and travel partners including: AFC Urgent Care, Bartell Drugs, Carbon Health, CityHealth Urgent Care, Color, CVS Health, Discovery Health MD, Kaiser Permanente, Quest Diagnostics, Vault Health and Walgreens. The test must be an FDA-authorized nucleic acid amplification test (NAAT), performed using a nasal swab and processed by a CLIA-certified laboratory. Learn more.
Alaska is offering safe and reliable testing options.
To help guests prepare for travel to the islands, we’re partnering with Carbon Health and Bartell Drugs to offer COVID-19 testing clinics — starting in Seattle on Oct. 12, 2020, and expanding locations in the coming weeks. For more information, including how to schedule an appointment and pricing visit alaskaair.com/hawaii-bound.
No test? Pass go. Head straight to quarantine.
Without a test, both residents and visitors, arriving from out-of-state to Hawaii are still subject to a mandatory 14-day self-quarantine, which is in effect for all islands served by Alaska Airlines. Here’s what quarantine means in Hawaii:
- It means no leaving your designated self-quarantine location for any reason—except for medical emergencies or to seek medical care.
- Food must be delivered at your own expense, so no sit down dinners at local spots or trips to the grocery store.
- Vacation rentals are not permitted as a quarantine location.
- Failure to follow this order is a misdemeanor and punishable by a maximum fine of $5,000 and/or 1-year imprisonment.
Prepare for a temperature check at landing + your return flight.
Upon arrival, travelers will also have their temperature checked and will be required to have completed a travel & health form that includes your length of stay and return flight confirmation.
Fly Alaska to Hawaii.
On Nov. 1, Alaska’s nonstop service to Hawaii will resume from Portland, Oregon; San Jose, California; and San Diego, California. Hawaii service will begin from Anchorage, Alaska and Los Angeles on Nov. 20. Book your next trip today!
For more information, visit hawaiicovid19.com/travel.